THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

A Lost Library and Some Machine

Posted in Books, History, Novels by J.R. Bumanglag on February 25, 2009

I recently went home to Baguio last weekend for my Dad’s PMA Homecoming. As usual it was very cold and and I was shivering all over. Although not as cold as I remembered, but still. It was about 45 days went I last went there, and so much has changed. On the way there, I saw a newly built SM Rosales, which is quite small for a mall. Some buildings have already gone down here, some new places there and I’m in a different place. I’ll blog about the PMA Homecoming later. Right now, I want to talk about some new books I bought, care of my mom. Thanks mom!

The Alexandria Link

The Alexandria Link by Steve Berry

So there  I was in National Bookstore, giddy and jittery about getting a new book. After I reread Angels and Demons, I was in for more mystery and historical novels. The first thing that came to my mind was Steve Berry. Weeks ago, I already saw his novels, scampered all over tables at Fully Booked SM North. I remember checking out The Venetian Betrayal, his latest book. I immediately took note of the writer, vowing to read any book by him if I ever get the chance. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the Venetian because it wasn’t available. So I took the next best thing. It’s about the lost library of Alexandria. The last time I heard about this library was when I watched a McGuyver movie when I was a kid, an adventure ala Indiana Jones. Seemingly interested to learn more about it, I just had to pick up this book. Here’s the extract from the back page:

The Library of Alexandria was the most important collection of ancient knowledge ever assembled. The building stood for six hundred years and contained more than half a million manuscripts. Then suddenly it vanished. No trace of this literary treasure has ever been unearthed.

Fifteen hundred years after the library’s disappearance, Cotton Malone finds himself at the heart of the mystery. His son is kidnapped, and his bookshop is attacked-all because he’s the only man alive who knows the whereabouts of the Alexandria Link, the key to locating the missing library. Purposely hidden away for more than a millennium, a forgotten truth lies within that lost cache of knowledge – one that, if revealed, will have grave consequences not only for Malone but for the balance of world power.

***

Extraordinary Engines

Extraordinary Machines by Various Writers

Yes, I’m a science fiction fan. Ever since I watched films such as Akira, Ghost  in the Shell, Steamboy, The Matrix, Star Wars and other flicks with the coolest machines, I became an advocate. After I picked up The Alexandria Link, I saw this book silently staring at me. It was begging me to pick him up and give him a chance. So I did. And one word made my mind. Steampunk. If Smoke and Mirrors was a collection of short stories about fantasy, this would be her counterpart, a sci-fi genre in all its glory. Here’s the extract from the back page:

Extraordinary Engines: The Definitive Steampunk Anthology assembles original stories by some of the genre’s foremost writers. Edited by Nick Gevers, this collection includes brand new stories by Stephen Baxter, Eric Brown, Paul Di Filippo, Hal Duncan, Jeffrey Ford, Jay Lake, Ian R. MacLeod, Michael Moorcock, Robert Reed, Lucius Shepard, Brian Stableford, Jeff VanderMeer and more.

***

I will be blogging these two books right after I read them. In the meantime, summer vacation (a very long one) is slowly creeping up on my shoulders. There’s so much to do. Shrug.

Leave a Reply

