THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

To Be Continued

Posted in Comics, My Art by J.R. Bumanglag on February 26, 2009

While I was practicing last night, I chanced upon my portfolio (which is not so much a portfolio – not yet) and decided to post my old work, which until today is left unfinished. The comic began as a pinup (that would be page 3) that grew out of boredom. Until that time, I was still in the process of conjuring short stories and adventures. There came a time when I was listening to the Eraserheads’ song 68 Dr. Sixto Antonio Avenue that I started imagining a music video in my head. Straight out of that song, I pictured that scene in my head where this certain cyborg doctor was escaping from some certain villains, trying to protect his package. With that in mind, I drew that scene.

Later, I learned that there was a contest being held by Mangaholix, an 8 page comic with a theme about what the world would be like 1000 years from now. I really wanted to join, so I tried extending the scene from my head into a one-shot story. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it and I was left with only about 2 pages done. Too bad. Maybe when the time comes, I’ll be able to finish the story.

Page 1

Page 1

Page 2

Page 2

Page 3

Page 3

Leave a Reply

