THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

My Mom's Weekend Birthday

Posted in Family, Photography by J.R. Bumanglag on March 18, 2009

Mom and Dad

I’d like to greet my mom, Mrs. Maria Elena B. Bumanglag, a Happy 51st Birthday! I’m so glad to have her as a mother, one of the greatest inspirations in my life. It took us two days just to celebrate her birthday, (a tiresome but gut-satisfying feat) on the weekend of March 14-15.

The plan was to travel home to Baguio on a very early Saturday. I had just finished attending my classmates’ birthday party on Friday March 13th (which didn’t turn out to be an unlucky day). Little did I know, it was going to be a longer weekend than I thought. It was about 2am when my brother finally came to pick me up and we were off. I slept the whole trip and 6 hours later, my neck froze and it was the end of me. When we arrived, my mom was waiting by the door. I gave her a hug, knowing that the last time we saw each other was 2 weeks ago. After unpacking, I went straight to sleep again. I woke up at noon and had lunch with the family. I spent the afternoon net surfing and drawing practice.

Hamada Chef

That Saturday night, we had dinner at the Hamada Restaurant located inside the Baguio Country Club. It’s one of my family’s most favorable go-to-restos, aside from Gerry’s Grill and Mann Hann. The thing that sets this resto apart is the live performance of the chef cooking the meal in front of the customers. Definitely a winner on my list! It never ceases to amaze me how they do it. As always, the dinner was amazingly good. If you ever get the chance to eat there, I suggest the Yamamori. Go try it out yourself!

Yamamori

The next day, we had lunch at Camp John Hay Main Club. The weather was almost gloomy and the air was very cold. They were serving grilled cuisine which unfortunately, they ran out of. We ended ordering from the menu instead. My sister and I ordered Pork Spareribs (which later I would think was the best choice because I was stuffed!). My dad wasn’t able to eat with us, being a dedicated golfer that he was.

Everything Nice

The Sunday afternoon was left with us strolling at SM City Baguio. The first thing we did was buy pasalubongs for our relatives living in the US. Then, they bought me a new baggage for our trip to America as well as new clothes (I’m lacking a lot of gimik clothes). We had coffee and merienda at Everything Nice Cake Shop and Café. To my dismay, I later discovered that they had blue berry cheesecake, my favorite merienda. The cassava cake was good enough to satisfy my grumbling taste buds. After all the hustle and bustle, we finally had dinner at Mann Hann. I couldn’t enjoy the food as much as I wanted because we were all full by then.

Again, Happy Birthday Mom!

Leave a Reply

