THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

A Man and His Chickens

Posted in Comics, My Art by J.R. Bumanglag on May 24, 2009

Elmer

Gerry Alanguilan’s Elmer in the simplest sense, is a crazy idea taken very seriously. It took me a couple of readings to really appreciate the piece. The concept of chickens gaining sentience is possible enough to really think about it for a moment. It’s almost like George Orwell’s Animal Farm and the made-for-TV 1999 adaptation, minus all the other farms animals. It does seem hard to accept the fact that chickens, a frail and timid animal, can assimilate themselves with the human race. Truth be told, it’s all just a lack of understanding and accepting change.

So, I had a chance to offer my two cents on the subject. A final plate for my composition class required us to use mixed media on a 2 x 3 canvas. Running out of ideas, I turned to my comic books for inspiration and this was the product.

Leave a Reply

