THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

Ye Old Reliable

Posted in Comics, Family, My Art, Technology by J.R. Bumanglag on June 4, 2009

Sometimes even the oldest and phased out tools can stand the test of time. Ever since mom bought me a new laptop, I still do think that my old laptop still had a kick in it to go on. So I fired it up and yes, it still does work almost perfectly. Way back in 2007, I had asked my parents to buy me a laptop, foregoing my birthday gift a year earlier to give them a head start. But lo and behold, they instead gave my brother’s laptop and bought him a new one. Sensing a little unfairness with the situation, they had explained that his Acer Travelmate 2702LC was faster than the newer laptop. In spite of a fictitious disadvantage, I came to accept the terms of engagement.

Acer Laptop

Basic setup

Failed Cooling System

Special Features

As my classmates will know, our 3rd and 4th year in college was the most hectic. It required us to be a step further in technical know-how with programs such as Photoshop and Illustrator keeping company at the busiest of nights. Old Acer never did let me down, considering I wasn’t the only one using it. Some of my classmates would sleepover at the dorm and we would take turns crashing the keyboard. It also provided ample entertainment at our most boring times. I owe a lot to this fine piece of equipment and am not saying goodbye just yet.

So far, my new laptop has been great, dealing with Photoshop and multiple programs with ease (not so perfect but I can still manage). Though sometimes, it does boot at the wrong side of the bed with check disk giving me nightmares.

Color Preview

I’ve been messing around with the preview page I posted a week ago, getting used to digital colouring and multiple hot keys. I do face some problems like design issues and wrong colour tones, but you do have to make the program work for you and not vice versa. By the end of this week, I’ll be posting the test coloured page and hopefully, have bought a drafting and computer table by then. My fingers are itching to pencil thesis pages.

Dog and Goat

On a side note, last Sunday’s lunch was very satisfying as I made an Ilocano delicacy called Kilawen. It really tastes good, as long as you balance the taste among goat skin, onions, onion leaves, ginger and calamansi. I took our golden retriever Maui to the vet and her ears, which are the most troublesome part of her life, have finally subsided swelling. My grandma will finally leave the hospital and thank God for her successful operation and recovery.

Leave a Reply

