THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

Digital Art and Beyond

Posted in My Art, Technology by J.R. Bumanglag on July 7, 2009

It’s interesting to learn how many artists today are shifting to digital art. With the proliferation of computer programs such as Photoshop, Painter, Illustrator and Maya, art has become somewhat more accessible and appealing to people. I’ve come to know that the creative and media industries today prefer applicants to be knowledgeable with the said programs. The digital paintbrush has become an industry standard and can become a powerful addition to an artist’s already abundant tools. I’m a traditionalist in terms of how I approach my art. But these past few years of being bombarded with digitally rendered paintings, edited photos and 3D models have changed my perception. At first, I was hesitant and a non-believer of such a technology. I soon realized it was just a means to an end. Soon, painting with an invisible brush was inevitable.

Painting Digitally

Digital painting number one. A first of many artworks to come, my first digital painting was a blast! I had never had this much fun in a long time. It was a challenge, yes, but overall a mind-exercising experience. And to think I didn’t have to go through my usual setup session of preparing tubes and palettes, cleaning brushes and containers. Of course, traditional has its advantages. But professionally, going digital is a must if I have to hit deadlines and such. The possibilities are as far as the infinite digital canvas.

Leave a Reply

