THE WEB JOURNAL OF JOHN RAY

That Was It!

Posted in Comics, My Art by J.R. Bumanglag on February 22, 2010

Thesis. That feels good. Very good! After all the frustrations and struggles, my comic book thesis is finally done. A culmination of almost more than a year’s work, scratched off the checklist. The defense held at school last week, February 17, was the shortest 51 minutes I have ever had. The jury, composed of 2 college professors and 1 guest, were not as stingy as I thought they would be – big thumbs up there. Still, I was  nervous as hell. But nothing felt as good as hearing the jury say that I passed.

The thesis study, entitled “The Combination of the Filipino Traditional Style and Modern Digital Coloring,” was a very personal project of mine. The venture was an intense stylistic adjustment – a challenge I simply took to open opportunities and develop my personal style. Throughout the endeavor, I’ve learned much about the Filipino masters of the old komiks industry. My appreciation of the Filipino style has grown and I would cite Alfredo Alcala as my most favorite Filipino artist. He was a very passionate man, embedded in the details of his artwork.

The story I chose to adapt into a comic book was Timothy James Dimacali’s “Skygypsies,” a short story published in Philippine Speculative Fiction III. It is a sci-fi adventure set in the regions of the asteroid belt, wherein the Badjaos have transitioned from seafaring to spacefaring –  a fulfillment of their destiny beyond the stars. From the very first time I read the story, I fell in-love with it and the story grew on me. It presents an ocean of potential…and I for one wanted to realize that.

Overall, there were a lot of things that I could have done better. I’ve realized now that I have to go back to basics and relearn a lot of things. And in equal footing, there were things I was very happy about as well. Enjoy and cheers to the future!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Debra said, on February 23, 2010 at 5:37 am

    Congratulations JR, you are a seriously talented artist, love your work. Warm regards, Debra Marie Caswell

    • J.R. Bumanglag said, on February 24, 2010 at 4:16 am

      Manang Debra,

      Thank you so much manang Debra. Come back to the Philippines already. We miss you :D Regards to you family po.

  2. Leizl said, on February 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Wow galing!
    Congratulations again JRB…keep it up. God bless you

    • J.R. Bumanglag said, on February 24, 2010 at 4:17 am

      Auntie Leizl

      Maraming salamat po :D I hope you come back home too. God Bless din po sa inyo.

  3. Joel Chua said, on February 24, 2010 at 2:55 am

    I think you did a great job. Pang-international to.

  4. loybart said, on April 16, 2010 at 4:26 am

    super awesome!

  5. milcon ruiz said, on May 24, 2010 at 8:43 am

    I am so proud of you.. Natapos din.. See!!! Super GALING..Pang-international!!! I love you so..

  6. Budjette Tan said, on February 24, 2011 at 4:57 am

    Hi John!

    These pages look great!

    Is there anyway we can read the whole story? :)

    –budjette

    • J.R. Bumanglag said, on February 28, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      Request granted sir! I hope the story is to your liking. Tell us what you think about it. Thank you very much!

  7. cat said, on April 26, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    hello. i haven’t finished reading your comics from this link> https://thejohnray.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/its-about-time-and-space/
    — and now i can’t seem to access it. :( i was really hoping to include your work in my thesis. i’m working on philippine science fiction from 2008 – present. i hope you’d post it again soon. thank you.


Leave a Reply

